Free UK delivery on all orders over £150

Top Menu

  • Fair Trade Fashion
  • Natural Fibres
  • FREE UK Returns on any order
  • Worldwide Delivery
  • Website Rated 4.85/5

Nomads Clothing

Home > Swati

Swati

Swati is a small factory in Noida, recently relocated from Delhi. The factory is owned by Mr Mahesh, who began working in the garment industry 25 years ago on the production line before gaining the knowledge and funds to open his own premises. Day to day running of the factory is in the capable hands of Monicka who has an extremely good eye for detail and handles all the communications and developments necessary to run a successful garment factory.

 

Swati employees receive a fair wage and are entitled to 24 days paid leave annually.

 

Swati is Sedex certified which means they provide complete transparency regarding labour standards and health and safety as well as environment and business ethics. This enables us to ensure they continue to comply to our fair trade policy.

 

Swati specialises in providing excellent quality natural fibres and printed fabrics.

Maker Focus

Ruby (35) – Checker / Thread Trimmer

I am from Rampur in Uttar Pradesh and I am married with 3 children, 2 girls aged 3 and 6 and a son of 12. I have been working here for one year and my job is to do the thread trimming after the garments come off the production line. I also check for mistakes - sometimes these need to be altered by hand, like bead work or embroidery.

 

I live in rented accommodation in Haldwani, about 6km away. It takes about half an hour to get here by auto rickshaw which I share with others making the same journey.

 

I am happy with the pay I receive. I am able to save with my husband and we have already bought a plot of land. We are now saving more so that we can start to build a house there in about 6 months. I work 8 hours per day 6 days a week, if I am offered overtime then I get paid double for this. I also get 24 days paid leave annually. I really like working here, I cannot think of anything I dislike! I am happy with what I am doing, I work for my children so they can study and grow.

 

Sonu (30) – Cutting Master

My hometown is Agra, and I left school when I was 16 to come to Delhi where I started working as an assistant layer in the cutting department. I have been working here for 12 years and became a Cutting Master after 3 years of training. I now live in Sangram Vihar which is 25km away and I travel to work by motorbike. I live with my wife and 5-year-old daughter.

 

I am happy with the pay I receive - I can manage my livelihood without problem and I have been able to save money to buy a plot of land for investment purpose. I work from 10am until 6pm 6 days a week and will do overtime when required. I am not looking for any further training as I am already Master, and I don’t want to do any other job!

Successfully added to your bagContinue ShoppingView / Edit BagCheckout